There she is, like a friendly phantasm on the periphery of my life. Sometimes making her way in, and then flitting out like a shadow dispelled by a sudden burst of light. Only, this light brings me back to my darkness. She is sometimes an idea, sometimes an ideal, and sometimes just that one thing I’d desperately wish for. And then the darkness tells me – This is probably what you do not need, no matter how badly you may seem to want it right now. She walks on a different plane; one that I wish I could set foot on, if I could bring myself to come out of this morass of the world I have inadvertently created, and cannot now seem to escape.

She is my company in times of solitary confinement – and in a way, I have come to prefer this confinement, if only for her presence. Because this confinement, this withdrawal from the general hubbub, is what sets me free. I am free to look at the sky, I am free to walk alone and let my mind wander further than I perhaps ever will. I can look at the smallest things around me, and look at the world from their perspective. My mind can think that there is hope yet for something better, something that will endure. From sweltering afternoons to the dead of a chilly night, everything comes alive. Not here, not in what lies around me, but within me. I stand – though not entirely aloof from whatever troubles find their way to plague me, in ways big or small – but yet a little freer from considering whatever consequences may come.

I may not yet be happy, but I am calm. I may yet be shackled, but I am free.